State Legislators United Against Nuclear War

As a member of the Georgia State Senate, I have joined with women colleagues in both chambers to introduce resolutions urging Congress to establish protocols for the use of nuclear weapons. These resolutions make clear that the President does not have sole authority to order a first-strike nuclear attack on another nation without Congressional approval. Our efforts are joined by women legislators in eight additional states (Massachusetts, Illinois, California, Iowa, Maryland, Vermont, Minnesota, New Hampshire) who have introduced similar resolutions or sent jointly signed letters to their Congressional delegations.

Massachusetts Senator Barbara L’Italien with WAND, Beyond the Bomb, and Mass. Peace Action Activists.

To read the rest of the story, click here.

Georgia State Senator Nan Orrock is the President of the Women Legislators’ Lobby, a program of Women’s Action for New Directions. To find out what you can do to help prevent nuclear war and nuclear weapons testing, go to the Take Action Page.


We couldn't do it without you!

Join us

Never miss an action alert!

Contact us


810 7th ST NE

Washington, DC 20002

Take Action

Help us make a difference.

©2018 by Women's Action for New Directions.

Bird with white outline.png
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle