top of page


Campaign Status

Representative Mary Sullivan introduced Joint Resolution 1 in the Vermont House of Representatives on January 24, 2019. It was sent to the House Committee on General, Housing, and Military Affairs. JR-1 currently has 19 co-sponsors:  Rep. Peter Anthony, Rep. Mollie Burke, Rep. R. Scott Campbell, Rep. Sara Coffey, Rep. Selene Colburn, Rep. Mari Cordes, Rep. Diana Gonzalez, Rep. Matthew Hill, Rep. Lori Houghton, Rep. Mary Howard, Rep. Kimberly Jessup, Rep. John Killacky,Rep. Warren Kitzmiller, Rep., Terence Macaig, Rep. James Masland, Rep. Curtis McCormack, Rep. James McCullough, Rep. Jean O'Sullivan, Rep. Trevor Squirrell, Rep. Tommy Walz, and Rep. Theresa Wood. 

In 2018, Rep. Sullivan introduced JRH 12 with Rep. Sarah Copeland-Hanzas, Rep. Mary Hooper, Rep. Kimberly Jessup, Rep. James McCullough, Rep. Robin Scheu, Rep. Trevor Squirrell. 

Legislator Spotlight

Representative Mary Sullivan


Representative Sullivan of Burlington, a Democrat, was born in Marlborough, MA, on September 9, 1952. She attended schools in Marlborough and graduated from Trinity College of Vermont with a BA in history in 1974. After working on the campaign of U.S. Sen. Patrick Leahy that summer and fall, Mary worked for three and one-half years in the Senator's DC office. Following that, she attended Boston University's School of Public Communications, graduating with an MS in communications in 1979. She worked at several newspapers over the years.


After living in Sydney, Australia, and Washington, DC, Mary returned to Burlington in 1988. She has held jobs in the communications field at the University of Vermont, Vermont Housing Finance Agency, and Trinity College, along with being a freelance writer.

Read the Resolutions


bottom of page